There are many reasons to at least consult with a domestic violence attorney if you are accused of this crime in the state of California. One of those reasons is that a conviction or guilty plea can come with a lifetime ban on owning a firearm. Read on to learn more and then contact Law Office of Michael L. Fell at (949) 585-9055 if you are in need of a free legal consultation from a domestic violence attorney.
Potential Consequences for a Domestic Violence Conviction
If you are convicted of domestic violence you could spend as long as four years in prison and pay fines of as much as $6,000. Due to a law that took effect in January, you could also lose your right to own a gun. This is not a temporary ban – it is a ban on owning a gun for the rest of your life.
More About the Law That Prohibits Gun Ownership by People Convicted of Domestic Violence
Prior to the new law that took effect in January, a person who was convicted of felony domestic violence would lose their right to own a possess a firearm for the rest of their lives. However, those who were convicted of specific misdemeanor domestic violence charges (i.e. those that did not involve physical injury) lost their right to own a gun for ten years.
The new law prohibits anyone who has been convicted of any domestic violence charge, whether a misdemeanor or a felony, cannot legally own or posses a gun for the rest of their life.
Potential Penalties for Illegally Owning a Firearm
According to California law, if you own, buy, or receive a firearm when you are prohibited from doing so, you could face serious consequences. Though the penalties vary based on the specific charge and the specifics of the alleged crime committed, if convicted of illegally possessing a firearm a person can face a prison sentence of 16 months, two years, or three years, as well as up to $10,000 in fines.
It May Be Possible to Restore Gun Rights After a Domestic Violence Conviction
If you have been charged with domestic violence then we strongly recommend that you contact an attorney to defend you. The best way to prevent losing your right to own a gun is to prevent a conviction in the first place.
However, if you have already been convicted then there are may be options available to have your rights restored. For example, you may be eligible for a Certificate of Rehabilitation or even a Governor’s Pardon, depending on your case and your background. Either of these could restore your right to own a gun. If you want to know more about options you may qualify for, contact Law Office of Michael L. Fell at (949) 585-9055 for a free legal consultation.